Tuesday Tutorial: Iced Vanilla Coffee with the Hario Coffee Dripper

Iced Vanilla Coffee: The final product. Perfect for a hot summer day.

Iced Vanilla Coffee: The final product. Perfect for a hot summer day.

Coffee is a part of every day life. I have quit before cold-turkey, but I always come back to coffee because it is a delicious and enjoyable part of everyday life. Especially when you make it yourself. That, or I’m just addicted.

INTRODUCING The Hario Drip Coffee Maker. Ever since I got my hands on a Hario drip coffee maker, I have told everyone I know about it. This little device eliminates your need for a traditional coffee maker, which I tend to avoid because it is big and bulky, hard to clean, and takes up precious counter space.

For an aspiring minimalist lifestyle, a traditional coffee maker is made obsolete with the simple purchase of the Hario. It is versatile, durable, and transportable by being able to be thrown ina backpack or suitcase on any trip! I have been told the popular Aeropress does a similar thing, but I refuse to use plastic with boiling water as it has been proven to cause birth defects and such. Plus, they just don’t seem as durable, and don’t stand up to the test of BUY IT FOR LIFE.

I bought mine at a very popular coffee shop, but you can get your Hario Ceramic Device on Amazon. Don’t forget the paper filters, too. In my case, I saved a few bucks by purchasing it at Colectivo on the Lake.

For even more hardcore minimalists, I know what you’re thinking. Your’e thinking,

Coffee? Don’t you know this product encourages economic oppression of developing nation, while at the same time creating an unnecessary need in your daily life?

To which I say, you are correct. An upcoming post is on NOT creating unnecessary needs, which I acknowledge that this daily drug consumption contradicts. It is definitely a luxury, but I choose to partake anyways.


 

HERE IT IS: The Better World Biker Way of Making an Iced Vanilla Coffee 

NOTE: This recipe works for HOT coffee, too. Just replace the mason jar with your favorite mug or travel mug, and take out the ice.

Everything you need for your iced vanilla coffee. The vanilla syrup is missing from this picture, but you get the idea.

Everything you need for your iced vanilla coffee.

    1. Get everything you need. In this case, two pint glasses, Hario Ceramic Drip Device of Awesomeness, filter, coffee, sugar, vanilla syrup. I know I know, Starbucks is terrible. Keep in mind that I have never, ever bought coffee grounds. Since I only use about a tablespoon a day for coffee, 1 lb gifted to me will last a very long time.

      wpid-wp-1403020010994.jpeg

    2. Heat up your water, pour through the paper filter, measure out your coffee and place in filter, then pour water over the coffee. Note that I do NOT have the $74 Electric Hario Kettle. Not necessary. There are lots of different methods for doing this, but as long as you wait  30-60 seconds between the 1st and 2nd pour, you should be okay. There are a plethora of YouTube videos on the “BEST” methods of doing this. They all taste excellent.

       
       
       
       

      wpid-wp-1403020001469.jpeg

      Here you can see the Hario V60 01 in all its beautiful glory. Make sure to get the ceramic version, NOT the plastic one.

 

3. For iced coffee, I fill the pint glass about 1/2 way, because the rest is going to fill up with ice. Since I only drink 1 cup of coffee per day, 1/2 pint is still enough to give me a nice caffeine boost.
 
 
 
 

wpid-wp-1403019995956.jpeg

At this point, add any sweetener or creamer… if you want to. Everyone likes their coffee different. I do 1 small spoonful of sugar, and about 1 teaspoon of vanilla syrup, and about a tablespoon of either almond milk or sweetened condensed milk.

 

 

 

 

4. Fill your other pint glass with ice, all the way to the top. Put coffee grounds and filter into compost, rinse out Hario with Hario measuring Tablespoon. I love this thing because cleanup takes about a total of 15 seconds. Let your hot coffee cool for 2-4 minutes. While waiting you can mix in any sweetener or creamer that you want to with the hot coffee, or do some pushups. If you like it black, drink it black, but sugar makes me go from liking the drink to LOVING the drink.

wpid-wp-1403019992303.jpeg

YUM. Better and cheaper than McD’s or Dunkin Ds.

 
 
5. Pour the coffee and sweetener mixture over the ice in the other pint glass, and ENJOY!

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


Okay, so for overall analysis on cost.

Grounds:         $0.00 — I get all of my coffee through personal connections.

Ice:                    $0.15 — cost to run our fridge/freezer for one day.

Water:              $0.05 — Not sure. This cost is included in our rent, but I’ll guess $0.05

Creamer:          $0.14 — Assuming I get 14 cups of coffee from 1 can S. Cond. Milk

Vanilla Syrup: $0.06 — Assuming I get 70 cups out of a 12 oz container

TOTAL:              $0.40 — This is the most your delicious cup of coffee will cost you. Not bad for an amazing iced coffee.

Compare this to McDonalds Iced Coffee (which inspired me to make my own iced coffee. You can view their recipe here.), which is probably the cheapest iced coffee you will find anywhere for $2.00 for a medium cup, comparable to the amount you are making. If you make this five times a week, it will save you $7.50 a week, $390 a year, and almost $2,000 in the course of 5 years. Not the most significant of $$ savings, but still more fun, delicious, satisfying, and rewarding. This amount would be even more if you order a fancy $4 drink a more trendy coffee shop.

Ultimately, this is my favorite way to make coffee as it personalizes every single cup of coffee, and eliminates the need for the pesky traditional coffee maker.

Do you have a favorite way? I’m curious to hear about the comparisons between the Hario and the Aeropress. I’m still weirded out about the plastic thing, but I’d love to hear about flavor differences, cleanup differences, impact, etc.

Thanks for reading. Keep on readin’ on!

New to the blog? Check out the WELCOME NEW READERS section. 
Or click  on the ARCHIVES from the months on the right. 
You can also e-mail me at betterworldbiker@gmail.com.
Keep on readin' on!

 

Comment Here

